Trauma Talk

From the President – The Winter Edition 2024

Dear Members,

It is amazing how time passes by and here we are already half way through 2024.

The ANZTS Board Strategic Planning Day held on Feb 28, 2024 was a very productive meeting attended by all Board members. The 2024-2029 Strategic Plan has been ratified by the Board and is posted on the ANZTS website. The Board is slowly but steadily working through the 2024 work plan.

Following the restructure of the Committees the Chairs are busy developing the Terms of References and once ratified by the Board an EOI will be sent out seeking membership of the Committees. I strongly urge you to consider joining a Committee where your knowledge, skills and attributes can assist in progressing the objectives and work plan of the Committees.

The Board met on 22 April and 28 May 2024 as there were matters that needed to be discussed to progress the 2024 work plan. The Board resolved to appoint the members of the Committee to align with the appointment of the Directors. Revised guidelines and new award category ‘Emerging Leader’ was also endorsed by the Board which is now available on the website. To make the process of nomination easier the process can now be done online. An announcement has been made seeking nominations and please consider putting forward your peer or colleague who is deserving of an award – nominate now.

The Board also resolved to hold The Society of Trauma Nurses (STN) Trauma Outcomes Performance Improvement Course (TOPIC) course this year.  The course will be held in Brisbane prior to the Trauma 2024 Conference with TOPIC faculty training on October 22 and TOPIC participant course on October 23, 2024. An announcement has been sent out and please consider attending this inaugural initiative. I would like to thank Helen Jowett and Ben Gardiner who have been the drivers to bring this to fruition.  

Following a request from ANZTQIP for representation, I am pleased to say that our Directors Ben Gardiner and Michael Handy will represent ANZTS.

The planning for the Trauma 2024 conference is well underway under the stewardship of Grant Christey and Martin Wullschleger and their esteemed team.
Please register for the conference well in advance to avail the early bird fee.

There are 5 Directors whose terms are coming to an end this year. To follow due process an EOI will be sent out to all members to seek nominations for Directors position. If you would like the opportunity to serve on the ANZTS Board please consider nominating.

Mr Ben Gardiner, Secretary ANZTS Board has decided to step down from the role this year at the end of his term as Director. Fortunately, he has indicated that he will seek re-election to the Board. He has served on the Board since its inception and for many years preceding that. He has been instrumental in the establishment of the Board and the governance around it. We cannot thank him enough for all his hard work, contributions and governance knowledge that he brings to the Board meetings. On behalf of the Board I wish him all the best in his future endeavours. The Board will follow due process to appoint a successor.

Since our membership has transitioned to an online payment system, your 24/25 membership will be automatically renewed.  If you wish to obtain a tax invoice you can do so through your member login on the website.

If you know a colleague or friend who is not a member of ANZTS, can you please ask then to consider joining through the link Membership – Australian & New Zealand Trauma Society (

Prof Dinesh Varma, FRANZCR
ANZTS President