

Special General Meeting [Australasian Trauma Society]

ABN 35 665 490 453

Australasian Trauma Society Held via Zoom on Tuesday, 19 June 2022 at 4PM (1600hr AEDT)

MINUTES

1. Present/Apologies

Attendance: Helen Jowett (HJ - Chair), Dinesh Varma (DV), Michael Reade (MR), Sarah Adams (SA), Ben Gardiner (BG), Melissa Webb (MW), Michael Handy (MH), Zsolt Balogh (ZB), Belinda Gabbe (BGA), Nicole Kelly (NK), Alicia Jackson (AJ), Cameron Palmer (CP), Ian Civil (IC), James Brannigan (JC), John Crozier (JC), Kate Martin (KM), Nardine Johnson (NJ), Scott D'Amours (SD), Bhavik Patel (BP), Sudhakar Rao (SR), Trish McDougall (TM).

Proxy received for Chair: Kate Dale, Cea-Cea Moller, Andrea Mc Kittrick, Noel Garvin, James Smyth , Lincoln Tracy, Michael Rudd, Fran Williamson, Dr Mark Elcock, Darrell Searle, Fiona Thomas, Jodie-Kate Williams, Daniel Ellis, Shaun Edwards, Michael Noonan, Claire Hitchcock, Scott D'AMOURS, Dr Katherine Gridley, James Moore, Michael Steenson, Andrew Holland.

Proxy received for Melissa Webb: Lara Kimmel.

Apology: Kate Dale (KD), Grant Christey (GC), Alaina Campbell (AC), Savitha Bhagvan (SB), Adam Mahoney (AM), Andrew MacCormick (AMC), Michael Parr (MP), Babatunde Omoteso (BO), Angela Duggan (AD)

2. Acknowledgement of Country (HJ)

- 2.1. Acknowledgement of the Country for AUS (HJ) In the spirit of reconciliation, the ATS acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of country throughout Australia and their connections to land, sea and community. We pay our respect to their Elders past and present and extend that respect to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples today.
- 2.2. Acknowledgement of the Country for NZ (IC) Tihei mauri ora! E ngā mana, e ngā reo, e rau rangatira mā Tēnā koutou, tēnā koutou, tēnā koutou katoa



3. Discussion on the special resolution

Document discussed: "Overview: of the Proposed changes to Name of Society and Logo"

Several members respectfully expressed views regarding existing and proposed naming conventions and history of the organisation. Discussions on the term "Aotearoa" representing New Zealand was considered and it was agreed that, at this time, it would not be adopted by the society. Other naming options were also discussed.

The members present had discussed the acronym "ATS", it was a decision of the members present that ATS did not represent the new proposed name and if the new name was to be adopted the acronym would require reflection of the new name i.e., ANZTS.

Action: A caveat was agreed that if the proposed "Australian & New Zealand Trauma Society" name was adopted, the acronym of the society would be "ANZTS".

4. Vote on the special resolution SPECIAL RESOLUTION 1 – Change of Society Name

To consider and, if thought fit, to pass the following resolution, as a special resolution: 'That the Australasian Trauma Society be named as the Australian & New Zealand Trauma Society'

Vote Results: 36 Valid, Invalid or Abstain: 5

- 86% Agree to the Change to "Australian & New Zealand Trauma Society"
- 14% Retain the name 'Australasian Trauma Society'

Special Resolution Adopted - Change of Society Name

Australian & New Zealand Trauma Society

5. Other Business Nil 6. Meeting Closed 16:45hr